Compulsive Knitter

September 7, 2008

R.I.P. sweet Cookie

Filed under: cats — Marie @ 7:23 pm
Cookie sitting on her favorite thing, a blanket.

Cookie sitting on her favorite thing, a blanket.

I’ve avoided posting this (and posting in general), because it’s been hard.  Cookie is the first of “my” pets to die, although we have had family pets die before.  Cookie had been pretty sick for several months and we first noticed that she seemed to be losing weight.  In the picture here she is pretty plump, so at first it was hard to tell.  The vet then told us her kidneys were not working well (as sometimes happens to cats) and that we would need to give her fluids to help them function.  That seems to work well for awhile, although Cookie hated it.  Cookie kept losing weight and at times couldn’t even eat.  She wasn’t a very affectionate cat, but she started to sit on me or my husband whenever possible.  Maybe she was just cold or maybe it was comforting for her.  When she finally couldn’t eat or go to the bathroom anymore, we knew that we couldn’t let her suffer further.  Just before my birthday in June we had her put to sleep.  Both my husband and I were surprised how hard it was for us, although we knew it was for the best.  I still feel guilty, but we did not want her to slowly starve to death.  The loss has gotten easier with time, but we still miss her a lot.  I was lucky enough to have her for about 8 years since I rescued her off of the streets in Detroit, although the last 2 years were spent mostly with my husband.  R.I.P. little Cookie, you were a very sweet kitty.

1 Comment »

  1. I am so sorry. It is always hard to lose a pet especially in situations like this. She’ll always be in your memories and heart.

    Comment by jae — September 8, 2008 @ 7:56 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Shocking Blue Green Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

