Compulsive Knitter

February 28, 2005

Progress, I guess

Filed under: knitting — Marie @ 7:27 pm

I don’t feel like I’ve made progress, but here is the second sleeve of peppermint twist that I started last Wednesday:

twist-sleeve.jpg

It doesn’t seem like much to me, but it’s better than nothing. I think I’m just discouraged because I thought I’d be much closer to finishing by now. I’m anxious to try my hand at seaming and to see if it fits. (Of course, I’ve draped pieces of the sweater on me and it *looks* like they’ll fit, but it’s not the same thing!) Here’s a peek at the front:

twist-front.jpg

I already finished another one of these some time ago, so this is just the second front/back. So why don’t I rip out this one and re-do it in the solid (sleeve) color rather than the one I finished? Well, I made a mistake in the first one (not so much a mistake as something that looks sloppy – now I know why you don’t join a new piece of yarn in the middle of a row) that bothers me. So I’m getting lots and lots of knitting in on those tiny size 4 needles.

Sometimes I need a break from those tiny needles, so I started swatching for the chevron rib tank the other night. The yarn feels wonderfully soft, but is kind of awkward to knit with. Maybe I’ve just been knitting with the tiny yarn on tiny needles too much and just have to get used to “normal” yarn again. This is a project that I’m thinking I could bring on vacation – it might not take up too much room. On the other hand, maybe I should just finish those socks in progress. They’re just not too interesting to knit right now, but vacations are supposed to be relaxing, right?

Blog at WordPress.com.

