Compulsive Knitter

July 28, 2005

New project lust

Filed under: knitting — Marie @ 11:17 am

Since I started knitting, I’ve been picking up every new issue of Interweave Knits and most new issues of Vogue Knitting. Every one of these has some pattern (or more) that makes me drool – I wouldn’t buy them otherwise. However, I don’t think I’ve actually managed to *knit* any of these patterns. I think the closest I’ve gotten to starting one is the cable eight pattern (see sidebar), since I have the yarn all picked out. (Actually buying the yarn for a project pretty much guarantees I’ll get to it eventually. I don’t really have a stash per say.) Here’s the latest drool-worthy pattern from this fall’s IK:

cablecascade.jpg

I think I might be motivated to actually start this project this fall, if I can overcome a few problems. For one, I don’t really do turtlenecks. They make me itch and just look wonky on me. But I don’t know what I’d do with the neckline otherwise. The way the cables run up to meet the ribs of the turtleneck is pretty cool. I wouldn’t want to ruin that. Maybe I could just make a short ribbed collar…

Another potential problem is the cost of yarn. This looks like it will use the most yarn of any project I’ve made so far. Which means big bucks. I usually can’t afford the suggested yarn, but Elann usually has a good, affordable substitution.

And the final problem: size. There are two possibilities in the written pattern: the 38″ bust and the 44″ bust. I used the 38″ for my peppermint twist, but that produced a *really* snug fit. It was fine for that sweater, since that is how it looked it should fit, but this one looks like it needs a looser fit. But a 44″ would be really baggy on me, which is not a fit I like. (I think it just makes me look bulkier than I am.) I guess I can try to figure out how to re-work the pattern to fit 40″, which should be perfect. It’s just that I haven’t tried doing that before, but it would be a good opportunity to learn a new skill. But all of this has me wondering: how do these designers could up with these sizes? It just seems like a big gulf between 38″ and 44″. Is it completely random, or do pattern repeats sometimes force the designer to choose certain sizes? I’m curious.

There is not much new on the knitting front. I’m staying home from work today, so I hope to get much closer to finishing clapotis. I haven’t touched the baby socks in over a week. But I am just busy pushing myself to finish clapotis (which I can only work on evenings at home in the air conditioning – mmmm, central air, a luxury I don’t normally have). Once I finish that, I’ll get busy on the socks. It will be gratifying to work on a project that can be completely quickly for once!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

