Compulsive Knitter

August 11, 2005

Crap, part deux

Filed under: knitting — Marie @ 9:12 pm

I knew my sometimes cavalier attitude towards gauge would bite me in the ass someday. The other day I frogged what I had so far of the boobholder because I could see that the fit was going to be entirely wrong. And guess what? My gauge was pretty off. Since I started this project a few months ago, I don’t remember what was going through my head when I started. I think that because the pattern is very customizable for different sizes (just add or remove rows until it fits), I figured that I didn’t have to be too careful about getting gauge. I don’t think I even checked. Oh well, it was actually kind of fun to rip it all out. I gotta try scouting thrift stores for sweaters I can recycle, so I can do this more often. (Plus, cheap yarn!) Yesterday I knitted a few swatches and found that doubling the yarn and knitting on ten and a halfs gave me the gauge I want. So I’m trying again, and adding a few stitches at the beginning to make sure it’s big enough. The problem was what I thought should be more of a deep v-neck on the boobholder was more of a pushed-to-the-sides-of-my-chest-struggling-to-meet-underneath effect. Not attractive at all. I’m giving it one more go, but if it doesn’t work, I may consider making a one skein wonder instead with the same yarn.

Four more days and we’ll be back to Detroit! *whoot* I’ll be glad to be back with my stash and to receive my newest acquisitions from elann and ebay. And then I’ll be hitting the LYS to stock up on dpns for more sock knitting…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

