Compulsive Knitter

September 22, 2005

What I learned this week.

Filed under: knitting — Marie @ 3:54 pm

First, I learned that when frogging something (like the boobholder, for example) knit with two strands of yarn, one must be careful or one will end up with a huge tangled mess. Ahem.

Second, I learned the value of having a swift and/or ball winder. I didn’t think things could get any worse after frogging the boobholder, but boy, was I wrong. The pukucho cotton comes in these tiny skeins and I’ve got 15 of them, I think. It seems like using my knees or feet while winding the yarn into a ball by hand might drive me insane before I finish this top:

cable.jpg

And finally, I learned that things are never as easy as they seem. I thought this top would be easy (doesn’t it look easy?), but I’ve already had to rip back twice and start the cables over. The first time is because there is an error in the printed pattern. I knew something didn’t look right, but I thought what the hell do I know? (Maybe another lesson: trust my instincts.) Then second time was because I just wasn’t paying attention and didn’t put the twist in everywhere I should have.

It looks awfully small right now, but it would be much bigger off the needles. I hope it turns out okay – I don’t need another knitting fiasco!

By the way, the baby socks are all done. They’ve been done for awhile, but I just got around to weaving in the ends today. They’ll be washed and blocked and ready for their picture soon.

Blog at WordPress.com.

