Compulsive Knitter

October 1, 2005

Knitting meme

Filed under: knitting — Marie @ 10:50 am

The good news is, I survived this week. The bad news is that I haven’t done much knitting. But I saw a knitting meme over here, and thought it’d make an easy, quick post:

Do you knit continental or English?
English, baby. Whenever I’m in Germany, there is no end to the stares and comments I get for this. I have tried continental, however, but I like the results I get from the English way and stick to that. I am curious about combination knitting and may try that out too, just for fun.

How long ago did you learn to knit?
I honestly can’t remember. I think I may have learned it is a girl scout or something, because I did knit something in high school (see next question) and remember only having to remind myself of the basics. (And have my mom cast on for me.) Even though my mom was the girl scout leader, I don’t think either of us actually remember when I learned to knit! Maybe I just picked it up from her and my grandma…

First FO?
The first thing I remember finishing was a hat for a boyfriend in high school. For a first FO, it seems like a miracle to have pulled it off. But of course, the boyfriend didn’t really appreciate the hat and preferred one my grandma (the other one) had crocheted for me some time ago. Harumph.

Favorite yarn?
I don’t really have one yet – I don’t think I’ve tried enough of the yarns out there. But I have to say after finally trying out Lorna’s Laces shephard sock, I see what all the fuss is about.

Favorite pattern?
I don’t know what would qualify as a favorite pattern – knitting it more than once? I haven’t managed to do that yet, but I do really admire the ingenuity of Kate Gilbert’s clapotis. I’d love to make another one, but perhaps smaller and more scarf-sized.

Favorite pattern source?
Knitty, definitely! And I also like the patterns in both Stitch n’ Bitch books.

Favorite needles?
I love the casein needle I’ve ordered via elann.com. (Don’t know where else one would find them.) They’re smooth, so I don’t have to tug and push the stitches around, yet grippy enough that stitch don’t fall off easily. I don’t have that many sets though, and I’m missing three of my size 7 dpns – anyone seen them? 😦

Nicest thing you’ve ever knit?
Probably my clapotis. It always gets me nice compliments.

Most hated project?
Probably this knitting bag I made over a year ago, when I was just getting back into knitting. I didn’t start hating the project, it was just a way to get back into the craft. But now whenever I start a new project, my husband asks, “When are you going to finish that bag?” It was just practice and it’s ugly and I don’t want it! Argh…I’ve got to get rid of that thing!

Who are you going to pass this on to?
I don’t know who I could pass it on to; probably everyone has already done this. (I’m way behind the times.) Leave a comment if you want to be tagged.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

