Compulsive Knitter

February 3, 2006

My never-ending to-do list and a meme

Filed under: knitting, life in general, memes — Marie @ 3:32 pm

Interesting to see that most prefer knitting to work! I do too, but while I’m working on my thesis I am my own boss. I try to limit my knitting to evenings when I am in front of the TV, but that doesn’t always mean that I’m productive during the day. I was hoping to have my revisions done before the Olympics (aka the Knitting Olympics) start, but I think I’ll be lucky if I have the stats re-done by then.

I have made some good knitting progress, but I’ll have to shows pictures later. I’ve started the sleeve on the shrug, so now it is starting to look like something, rather than some random piece of lace knitting. I also picked out and ordered a secret project and yarn as a gift for a friend. It will be unveiled when she comes back for a visit in March. And, finally, I’ve choosen a pattern for Sockapalooza: straight-laced socks from Knitty. Yes, I am going to try knitting two socks on two circulars. Wish me luck. Next on my to-do list: buy sock yarn and swatch for the Olympics.

In the meantime, I decided to do the 4 things meme, seen at Jae’s:

4 jobs you have had in your life:
1. Accompianst (piano) for a singing teacher.
2. Secretary.
3. Data entry clerk.
4. “Sandwich Artist” at Subway.

Jobs not necessarily in that order. My favorite job was playing piano, although I don’t think I appreciated it much at the time. I wish I could still be paid to play! (I’m very rusty at it.)

4 movies you could watch over & over:

1. The Princess Bride
2. Monty Python and the Holy Grail
3. The Matrix (just the first one!)
4. Metropolis, particularly accompianied by the Alloy Orchestra at the Detroit Film Theatre

Hmmm, that was particularly hard to come up with, but I think that list best represents the genres I like best.

4 places you have lived:

1. Shelby Township, MI
2. Rochester Hills, MI
3. Detroit, MI
4. Munich, Germany

That list *is* in order, although obviously I’ve been back from Germany for quite awhile. I lived in Detroit again for a few years and now I’m back in the suburbs.

4 TV shows you love to watch:

1. My Name is Earl
2. Veronica Mars
3. Project Runway
4. CBS Sunday Morning Show

That list was way to easy to come up with. I could list even more, especially spoof-y shows like The Soup and The Daily Show. Obviously I watch too much TV.

4 places you have been on vacation:

1. Clearwater, FL
2. Cardiff, Wales
3. Italy (Naples and Rome)
4. Paris, France

There’s lots more places I’d like to go! I’d like to see more of the world than just Europe, although there are places in Europe I’d like to see as well, such as Greece and Sweeden.

4 websites you visit daily:

1. Bloglines
2. My Yahoo
3. My webmail account
4. Google News

4 of your favorite foods:

1. Olives, any kind but esp. black olives.
2. Pizza
3. Chocolate
4. Mexican food, but not the really authentic stuff I’m afraid!

4 places you would rather be right now:

1. Knitting in front of a cozy fireplace. (We don’t have one in our apartment.)
2. Relaxing with friends in a Biergarten in Germany in the summer. (If I’m lucky, I will get to do this this summer.)
3. Walking along one of those pristine white beaches in the Caribbean.
4. At the movies.

4 bloggers you are tagging:

I don’t know 4 bloggers to tag – if you want to, go for it!

2 Comments

  1. I’m currently doing 2 socks on 2 circs, as I’m too impatient to do one at a time. Once you get the rhythm it goes smoothly. Good luck to you!

    Comment by Dana — February 7, 2006 @ 2:20 pm

  2. I’ll second what Dana said. Doing both socks at once really isn’t all that tricky. The hardest part for me is keeping the yarn untangled! I bet your sockapaloooza socks will come out just fine. I still need to decide on a pattern for mine…

    Comment by Kirsti — February 7, 2006 @ 4:01 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

