Compulsive Knitter

January 12, 2007

New Year’s Resolutions

Filed under: life in general, resolutions — Marie @ 6:31 pm

I know that for the rest of the world, January is almost half over and it is a bit late for resolutions. But I’ve had a few I’ve been thinking about and the beginning of the semester is always a good time for me to feel motivated about making a change.

First, my non-knitting resolutions: 1) Watch less TV. 2) Get more exercise. You know, the usual. 🙂 These two resolutions might just go hand in hand. My plan is to regularly go to the (FREE) rec center at school before I go home for the night. It may sound crazy when my commute is only five miles, but my primary motivation is to avoid the traffic. How can it be so bad in small-town Louisiana? I dunno, but the roads here seemed to have been laid out by some drunk Frenchman, so there is pretty much only one way to get anywhere, and everyone needs to go there at once. And since I will be spending about an hour less at home about three times a week, it will give me at least three hours less TV time. My plan is pure genius, I tell you.

Now for the knitting resolutions. I don’t have a huge stash that I could rely on for something like Knit from your Stash 2007, but I do have plenty of unfinished projects laying around. (Actually, now that I think about it, it amounts to about the same thing.) So I hope, at the very least, to finish up all of the UFOs from last year. My resolution is to not start a new project for myself (gifts don’t count) until I finish at least one old project. Given the amount of things I have lying around (either here or in MI) close to completion, I hope to have a much more impressive end of the year report for 2007. I’m also toying around with the idea of knitting only one thing at a time, but I’m not convinced that that is necessary. Sometimes you just get really *sick* of a project, ya know, and as long as I switch to another UFO I’ll still reach my goal.

One final note: I’ve added a button to the sidebar in support of Melissa’s Knitters Against Global Warming. I hope it goes without saying that we should all do our part to protect the environment, whether it is recycling, reducing oil consumption, or writing our representatives. I’m psyched today because (as an apartment dweller) I finally found a place where I can take my glass containers to be recycled. Unfortunately, I also noticed lots of garbage just thrown in ditches on the way home. (What is wrong with people?) I also finally received “An Inconvenient Truth” from Netflix and plan on watching it this weekend.

2 Comments »

  1. There is a UFO knit along going on in the blog world. I think the rules are that every month you have to frog, finish, or commit a significant amount of knit time to atleast one UFO. If I can remember the link, I’ll send it to you.

    Comment by jae — January 13, 2007 @ 3:57 pm

  2. thanks for adding the button and doing your part!

    Comment by melissa — January 16, 2007 @ 4:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

