Compulsive Knitter

May 24, 2007

This is gonna hurt…

Filed under: knitting — Marie @ 10:06 am

I have no idea how I got this far without noticing this:

Gah! I cast on too many stitches and now the other side is Lucky is way too big. I did notice the size difference somewhat, but I thought it was due to gauge (I knit the other side a year ago) and that I could block it into submission. Boy, was I wrong! I took this discovery unusually well. I was watching Lost last night (craziness – at least lots of stuff actually happened during the finale, which is my major complaint with the show) and as soon as I saw that what I knit couldn’t be saved, I ripped it right out during the second hour. Ah, I discovered the joys of frogging with a ball winder. It couldn’t have taken me more then ten minutes to rip it out, and in the end I had two neat little balls of cotton yarn. Cathartic, really. I’ve already cast on the correct number of stitches, based on the side I’ve already knit, not the pattern. (I have no idea why I used the number of stitches I did…I’m sure I had a good reason, really πŸ™‚

And now a shout-out to my sock pal, who sent me a very amusing postcard. If I get a chance, I’ll post a picture of it here. And thanks to everyone who left comments on knitting with bamboo – they’ve been very helpful. I’m not sure what I’ll be able to find at my LYS (or if I’ll need to order online), so maybe once I get the yarn, I’ll let it “speak” to me and see what pattern is best. πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

