Compulsive Knitter

December 31, 2007

Goodbye 2007!

Filed under: memes — Marie @ 2:48 pm

Happy New Year everyone (assuming you read this after the ball drops) and thank you for stopping by. I’m happy that anyone stops by when it seems that all I do is complain that I have no time or motivation to knit! And now for a retrospective meme I’ve seen floating around, most recently here. I’m leaving out any questions that I don’t find particularly interesting in the interest of time – I’m still procrastinating about finishing my poster, you see. 🙂

What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?
I taught a college class, all by myself. I also had my first client as a student clinician.

Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I did tend to sorta keep my resolutions, at least for a little while. I did make it to the rec center to work out on a regular basis until my car when out of commission for over a month. And I’ve recently been much better about leaving the TV on as background noise, but I do have my husband around for company more often now. So I don’t think I should be too hard on myself if I do keep the TV on while in Louisiana. Unfortunately, I think the number of my UFOs has grown rather than decreased… but I plan to keep the same resolutions and try again next year!

Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope, but I do know two people who are pregnant right now.

Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank goodness.

What countries did you visit?
None, sadly. I think 2007 is the first year in awhile when I haven’t gone to Germany at least.

What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
We’d really like to own a house, but are a little afraid of the commitment and the housing market. At least houses are affordable for us in Houston, so it could happen.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Moving across country and surviving the Fall 2007 semester (see first question above).

What was your biggest failure?
I don’t know if I’d call it a failure, but I am disappointed that I didn’t make more progress rewriting my thesis into an article.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing major, but I did seem to have a cold/flu thing a few days ago, yuck.

What was the best thing you bought?
I dunno – maybe the cart I use to wheel my crap around campus? That’s pretty sad, but I don’t buy much “stuff.” Oh, I just remembered – I love our brand new washer and dryer (first that we’ve owned) that we bought after moving to Houston. I just don’t get to use them that all that often.

Where did most of your money go?
Moving expenses, rent, and my crappy car.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
I got pretty excited about reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and I actually pre-ordered it. (I read all the other Harry Potter books long after they came out.) I’ve been excited to see Sweeney Todd, but haven’t done so yet. Yeah, I don’t get out much.

What song will always remind you of 2007?
Hmm, I used to be better at stuff like this. There are songs that instantly remind me of high school or time spend in Germany when I was 16 or in college, but I don’t have one for this year. Guess I’m getting too old to pay much attention to current music!

Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
a) Happier, definitely. It was still a rough year, but a major improvement over 2006, I’d say. b) Thinner, maybe. At least I was before I started making all those Christmas cookies. I just don’t have that much time to sit around and eat during the semester. c) Poorer, unfortunately. A lot of that is due to the cross-country move and maintaining two households. We should be fine, eventually, but it’s taking awhile.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Knitting, writing, and exercising. I’d particularly like to get past the fear of not sounding “perfect” so that I can write more easily. And the exercising might have given me more energy overall.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Procrastinating, especially when it involved watching bad TV or reading stupid websites.

How will you be spending Christmas?
I spent a low-key Christmas with the husband and NO traveling, a nice change from previous Christmases.

Did you fall in love in 2007?
No, but I’ve been happily married for four years!

What was your favorite TV program?
I probably shouldn’t go into this, since I watch too much TV anyway, but I stumbled across Supernatural this year and really liked it. It’s now a must-see.

What did you want and get?
I wanted to get teaching experience and more “academic” GA duties, and boy did I ever get it!

What did you want and not get?
Hmm, I guess a Wii or an ipod, but no big deal.

What was your favorite film of this year?
Seeing as we hardly got to see any movies this year, I guess it is Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by default!

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 29 and was probably packing moving boxes or loading them on to a truck. I did have a really fun birthday bowling party, but that was a little bit before my actual birthday.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Submitting an article for publication. I’m not ambitious enough yet to say having one accepted for publication!

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
Probably trying to dress decently enough for teaching and clinic on as little money as possible. Thank God for Target.

What kept you sane?
My husband, knitting, and my cats (although they all drive me a little crazy at times too).

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.
I can usually handle more than I think I can…and that things are usually not as bad as they seem at first.

1 Comment »

  1. I LOVE Supernatural! I have to have my weekly Dean Winchester fix. I even watch the reruns which is pretty pathetic.

    Comment by Kristyn — December 31, 2007 @ 6:51 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

