Compulsive Knitter

January 23, 2008

Rough re-entry

Filed under: life in general — Marie @ 2:22 pm

I started a post some time ago about how fast January was going by and how I started a new project at the conference I presented at.  But that never got finished since I was busy enjoying every last minute of leisure I had left before the semester started.  And now that school started again on Tuesday, blogging may light if I am actually working, or heavy if I am procrastinating.  🙂

It’s been a bit of a rough start, since I had a hellish commute to Lafayette on Monday.  There was a terrible accident on I-10 and police didn’t let people who were stuck right behind the accident (like me) off the freeway for SIX AND A HALF HOURS.  (And yes, if you watched the video I linked, people were outside taking pictures and video of the accident, despite the clouds of black smoke and stuff flying around in the air.)  I had the opportunity right at the beginning to drive across a shallow ditch and escape via the service drive (they blocked that off later), but I didn’t and boy did I regret that after two hours had passed.  Unfortunately, I was about at the half-way point, so I continued to LA after I got out since I couldn’t face trying to make the drive again the next day.  By the time I got to my apartment I was feeling really sick and exhausted.  So, that is the story of my TWELVE HOUR commute between LA and TX (which is normally a four hour drive).  It might have been a good opportunity to get some knitting done, but I was too angry and upset about the whole thing to try.  I’m still recovering as I try to get unpacked and organized for the semester, but I will have a FO (yay!) and maybe even another new project (unless I can resist) to post soon!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

