Compulsive Knitter

May 5, 2008

Slow progress

Filed under: knitting, life in general — Marie @ 11:47 am

There are no major updates on the house just yet. My husband signed some sort of (executed?) contract, but I’m not sure exactly what it is because I’m still in Louisiana until the end of the semester, plus I don’t need to sign anything until we get to closing. So I’m a little out of the loop, but my husband updates me every night on the progress or lack thereof. We don’t have a closing date yet, but maybe there will be one today or tomorrow once the bank does its thing. As soon as the semester is over, I’ll probably get really impatient. It seems like it took long enough to find the right house, so now that that’s done, I feel like saying, “Get on with it!”

There has been some knitting, surprise, surprise. (Maybe I need the relaxation.) Since I don’t have much else besides sock yarn here and I wanted to quick gratification, I cast on for a sock with my stash of Wolle Rödel Sport & Strumpfwolle in a dark red tweed. I started out with a twelve stitch pattern from More Sensational Knitted Socks, but it just wasn’t working for me. Because of the large stitch pattern, I was kind of between sizes and maybe shouldn’t have chosen the smaller number of stitches to cast on. Plus, I wasn’t finding the pattern (Stansfield 304, I believe) all that relaxing to knit. I was clenching my teeth for all the M1 and M1Rs. (I know, I have issues.) So I frogged it and started the Stansfield 196 instead….ah, much better! I find it relaxing, pretty nice looking in the yarn I chose, and going by very quickly. No pictures right now, since my husband has had the digital camera in Houston since we started house hunting over spring break.

If you’ve stuck with me thing long, however, I do have another picture to reward you!

Here’s a shot of what will be (knock on wood) our master bedroom. See what I mean about the paint? I don’t have a problem with brown walls, but this is kind of dark and I think our dark-stained dressers might just fade into the walls if left as is. Isn’t that a kind of crazy corner? I’m thinking we’ll have to actually have a sitting area there. I’m having trouble concentrating on the last papers/exams I have to do this semester, since I keep decorating the house in my mind…

1 Comment »

  1. […] brown color that predominated, although I did like the flowers in the theme.  I also realized that I complained about a similar color on the walls of the new house we bought, although ironically it was similar to the theme I chose […]

    Pingback by Change of theme « Compulsive Knitter — September 12, 2008 @ 11:22 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

