Compulsive Knitter

May 4, 2005

New arrivals!

Filed under: grad school, knitting — Marie @ 7:18 pm

There are all sorts of exciting new things here at compulsive knitter… first of all, a finished chevron rib tank:

chevron-finished.jpg

I have to say, all in all I’m very pleased. It did turn out a little big, as I suspected, but just big enough to make it a better vest than tank top. (Some people probably like their tanks a little on the loose side, but I’m just afraid of exposing too much that way.) I’d make the tank again, but I would try it in the medium size and perhaps in a different yarn. I love the cotton (it’s *very* soft), but since it is so loosely spun it does shed a lot if you’re not careful. Anyway, I think it’s a great pattern and it would be great to play around with it a little. I already altered the straps a bit from the pattern – the pattern was kind of vague in that respect anyway – and liked the results. I really, *really* like the three-needle bind off and may use that whenever possible on shoulders in the future.

Not far behind (in terms of my excitement over) is my new laptop!

old-fogey.jpg

I’ve named it “Old Fogey” in honor of the phonetician Peter Ladefoged. It’s what he uses for his email address, and I appreciate anyone who has a sense of humor about his or her name, seeing how my last name is Klopfenstein. (You can imagine the nicknames I had growing up.)

It’s pretty and shiny and had everything I need! I decided that with all the traveling I’ve been doing (for both conferences and fieldwork) that it would be indispensable. Let’s just hope that I was right that I could afford to buy it!

And even though I just spent all this money on a new laptop, look what came in the mail:

elann.jpg

I just couldn’t help myself: when I thought the new laptop thing wasn’t going to happen, I ordered some goodies from Elann in my despair. Bad Marie. But now I have some yarn for the clover lace wrap from SnB Nation, the latest IK and new needles. Those are the kind made out of casein (a milk protein) that I love and can’t find anywhere else. I like that yarn moves easily along them, yet doesn’t fall right off of them like on metal needles.

That leaves me with the dilemma of what I should knit next. Whatever I choose, I know I should go back to my poor neglected peppermint twist. Maybe now I can face ripping out the back and re-doing it over again… I also can either make the SnB wrap or a boobholder. The boobholder would probably provide more instant gratification, but I’m afraid I’m going to screw up the pattern, since it is not written in the help-out-the-poor-dumb-novice-knitter style I require. I read it carefully today and figured it out that it is worked from the top down, so maybe I’m good to go!

(more…)

Blog at WordPress.com.