Compulsive Knitter

July 5, 2005

Back from Boston!

Filed under: knitting, life in general — Marie @ 12:12 pm

I did forget something (I knew I would!): I have learned a new technique – the Russian join! This has turned out to be a handy new skill, since I hate weaving in ends and generally do a sloppy job. Picture to show off said new skill to come soon.

I been seeing “fiery” boleros (from IK Summer 05) popping up all over the web (like here and here), which has encouraged me to look again at the pattern. At first I thought it was a nice pattern, but not something I’d have much use for. (I’m all about the finished project – not much of a process knitter, I guess.) Now I think I’d like one myself, probably in black. I can add it to the long list of stuff I’d like to knit….

Speaking of stuff I want to knit, I think the cable eight top will get bumped up the list, thanks to Wendy of Knit and Tonic. She just had to go and mention that Pakucho Organic Cotton is now available from Elann…. If I could trust shipping to my temporary address here in D.C., I would have ordered it by now. I am going to try to hold off until we get back to Detroit, unless supplies look dangerously low. Honestly, I’ve got more than enough yarn to keep me busy.

Speaking of keeping busy, I’m zipping along on clapotis. The poor boobholder has been cast aside like yesterday’s newspaper. I will get back to it soon, though! The justification for the switch-a-roo is that my office at the NMNH is freezing, giving me a reason to knit a wool scarf/shawl in the summer. (Other offices there are too hot. They have serious climate control issues. I am considering borrowing a space heater from my cousins. Given the often sweltering weather outside in D.C., I am prepared for strange looks if I lug such a thing into the office.)

Some pictures of clapotis-in-progress, lounging around in Harvard Yard:

clapotis-boston.jpg

Perhaps a shot in the grass would’ve been nicer, but I did this in a hurry during a break between sessions. At least you can see some of the rows of dropped stitches better than I thought. I have 4 or 5 of these now, I think!

P.S. I did absolutely nothing to celebrate the 4th of July. I was all tired out from my trip and the hubby and I aren’t much for crowds. I’m still kinda worn out and used that as an excuse not to go into work today (hence my ability to write a long entry). The plan is to get some more of my own research done at home – half the day is over already, so we’ll see if I manage any work at all!

(more…)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.